Skip to Content

Beginner’s Guide To Chakras

beginners guide to chakras & how balancing them can enhance your adventures

There are energy hubs in our bodies known as chakras, which influence our lives. In this beginner’s guide to the chakras, we’ll explain what each energy hub regulates, influences, and how they can help you thrive in the realms of fear, love, trust, and connection.

Each of the 7 chakra points, which lie along the spine from tail to crown, rules a different aspect of our lives as well as the physical body surrounding the energy point. The chakras can be used to resolve physical symptoms like headaches, chronic back pain, and more or we can use them to help us overcome our greater struggles. Unblocking these energy hubs can also help us to live healthier and more fulfilling lives.

We are happy to have our dear friend, Anika Spencer, share with us a complete guide to the chakras. Be sure to read all the way to the end where she guide’s you through a beginner chakra meditation.

When I was a wee one I used to plant Skittles in our backyard. At the time, Skittles had launched a commercial where a disgruntled looking individual planted Skittles in a field. Then those sugary seeds exploded, creating a rainbow that showered the earth with candy. The brand spoke to my psyche when it whispered their parting catchphrase: “Taste the Rainbow!”

I imagine you too have a desire to taste and experience the exploding magic of this world. It’s also my belief that you can.

Perhaps you’re not going to plant Skittles then see a rainbow explode out of the dirt. Rainbows are pretty rad without the candy. Then again, if it’s your heart’s desire, during the next available phenomenon I’d be willing to climb a tree and throw Skittles at you.

Rainbows aside, I believe there’s a vast array of totally awesome places to go, people to encounter, and adventures to embark on.

Your ability to embrace these excursions into the unknown can be enhanced if you tend to your INNER RAINBOW, as well. I’m referring to your Chakra System.

A Background on Chakras

Yoga tradition and science indicate that energy lives inside of your body. Most agree that human beings are riddled with potential. That potential, life force, energy, aliveness (whatever you want to call it) that exists in you is referred to as “Prana” in the Yoga Tradition. The Prana that resides in your physical form is sometimes referred to as the “Pranic Body” or the “Subtle Body.”

The Subtle Body houses the Chakra System. Chakras are the main energy centers of the body.

Prana is everywhere, but it’s believed to be particularly dense at each Chakra point. Yoga, and its influencing traditions, dubbed these hubs of life force The Chakras. It’s also believed that bringing attention to these locations and to the aspects of experience each chakra represents cultivates balance and well-being.

The Power in Opening the Chakras

Balance and well-being can be tricky enough in the routine day to day. If you add in the rigors and uncertainty of a grandiose escapade, you might find yourself feeling a little cracked.

Perhaps staying steady on the road isn’t your main issue. Maybe you struggle to connect with well-meaning strangers. Or maybe, like so many, you’re mustering up the courage to book that next trip or buy your first surfboard.

Whatever your worry, my friend, I truly believe that tending to your unique and beautiful pranic body through Chakra-inspired attention and action can increase your sense of wholeness and help propel you forward. As they say, it works if you work it!

The Chakra System

Are the Chakras a new discovery for you? It’s most commonly said that the seven primary chakras reside in the body just in front of the spine. These centers run from the tailbone all the way up to just above the top of your head.

Each energy center also governs the area around it. For example, the root chakra resides at the base of the spine, AND it governs the pelvic floor, the bottom of your seat, and even the legs and feet. 

The chakras are said to function best when they are “aligned” or in balance. A balanced chakra neither steals the show of your life with overcompensation or obsession, nor sows stuck-ness or disempowerment through inhibition or rigidity.

In fact, you might call the Chakras: POWER CENTERS! Here is a BRIEF breakdown.

Muladhara Chakra – Root Chakra 

Color: Red
Element: Earth
Location: The base of spine

The Muladhara Chakra represents your foundation and sense of groundedness. It’s the chakra of stability, family, tribe, or community, and survival. When this chakra is in balance you feel safe, supported, and adaptive to change. 

Svadhisthana Chakra – Sacral Chakra

Color: Orange
Element: Water
Location: Lower spine, behind abdomen, and below the navel

The Svadhisthana Chakra rules your creativity, intimacy, and one on one connections, along with our relationship to the rhythms of life and your allowance of flow.

Manipura Chakra – Solar Plexus Chakra 

Color: Yellow 
Element: Fire
Location: Behind the upper abdomen, above the navel

The Manipura Chakra houses ego, identity, and the sense of self. It’s the generator of personal power. This area links you to your personal needs and inner desires along with the motivation and will power required for initiation and follow through.

Anahata Chakra – Heart Chakra 

Color: Green 
Element: Air
Location: Inside and at the center of the chest; behind the sternum, next door to the heart

The Anahata Chakra channels your ability to love and be loved. The energies of openness, compassion, self love, forgiveness, and action motivated by kindness and generosity flow through and from this Chakra.

Vishudda Chakra – Throat Chakra 

Color: Light Blue
Element: Ether
Location: The back of the throat

The Vishudda Chakra conducts expression and connection to truth. This area is in charge of your ability to express yourself fully and authentically, share your creativity, communicate clearly, and receive and interpret communication from others.

Ajna Chakra – Third Eye Chakra 

Color: Dark Blue 
Element: Light
Location: Back of the skull behind the forehead

The Ajna Chakra houses your Intuition. This Chakra harnesses your confidence in exercising discernment, seeing situations clearly, and accessing your inner wisdom. 

Sahasrara Chakra – Crown Chakra 

Color: Purple
Element: Vibration
Location: Above the head, above the back top of the skull

The Sahasrara Chakra hosts your spirituality or highest self. This chakra connects you to mystery, meaning, spirituality, divine surrender, and inner peace.

A Brief Chakra Meditation

Ready to explore? Find a comfortable seat on the floor or in a supportive chair. Close your eyes. Bring your attention to each chakra location one at a time. Observe the sensations present in each location. Practice receiving these sensations without judgment.

In some areas of the body, you might notice A LOT. Others might not hold your focus. After mentally visiting the location of each Chakra, internally thank the area.

Before opening your eyes thank the whole body three times or bring to mind three things you appreciate about it. Then open your eyes.

If this sounds intimidating, set an interval timer for one minute at each location. Feel free to record your insights in a journal or share them with a friend.

Would you like to go deeper in understanding and experiencing the Chakras? Click here to get access to 7 day chakra healing guided mediationas for only $7!!!

Related Blogs:

Power, Passion, and Productivity: Using Chakras to Empower Your Life

Share the love, Pin it!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.